It’s The Little Things in Life. . .

A few weeks ago I received a phone call from my friend, Kelvin Austin. I was deep into a group study for a test the next day so I declined the call and vowed to call him later that evening. I did a few hours later and Kelvin, as he always does, picked up right away.

I hadn’t spoken with Kelvin in a while so when he originally called I thought it was because he had a specific question for me, needed a prayer for a circumstance in life, wanted to know about a particular detail of an event I was involved in — you know, something like that. After all, that’s why most people call me anyway. I was wrong.

About eight minutes into the conversation I finally asked, “So, what’s up, man?” I was trying to get to the real reason why he called me. It was only later that I realized the reason he called was already mentioned.

He replied, in a heavily accented St. Louis tone (represent!), “Nothing, man, I was just calling to see how you were doing. That’s all.”

We spoke for a few more minutes then the conversation was over. Minutes after we hung up, I realized something: that was the first time in a very long time that someone other than a family member called me simply to see how I was doing.

That same week I had two speaking engagements, received a good grade on my Managerial Accounting test, and even graduated from college — all great things, to be sure. However, of everything that happened to me that week, Kelvin’s phone call stood out to me the most. It is true when they say that it’s always the little things in life that mean the most.

“…encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing” (1 Thessalonians 5:11).

Who can you call that you haven’t in a while to simply see how they’re doing? What gift can you buy for someone who you know is going through a rough season of life? How can you be of encouragement to a discouraged pastor, friend, family member, or neighbor?

It may seem little in deed . . . but perhaps will prove to be colossal in heart.

Post your comments below.

5 thoughts on “It’s The Little Things in Life. . .

  1. This is great, and very true. New Year’s Eve I received a call from a friend who just wanted to tell me how proud they were of me. I will remember that call above all others in 2012.

  2. I felt the anointing on this as I read it … thank you.
    It also encouraged me, for I am one who calls people just to “see how you are doing”, with no other agenda and I figure when I feel this desire that if I felt to call there is a good reason for it … even if it is not apparent because God is Good and He cares about “how we are all doing” …
    Your friend displayed “love” … which notably is a verb … something that we do … not just say …
    Of interest is that the only other title to be capitalised in the Bible, that I know of anyway, other than Jesus Son of God … is Barnabus … Son of Encouragement …

Please leave a comment

