Thankfulness = Joy

There are many keys to joy, not just one. But let’s talk about one that often gets neglected: thankfulness.

Here’s the equation: Thankfulness = Joy.

Jesus could have been doing many things the night before he would atone for the sin of the world, but he choose to eat a meal consisting of bread and wine with his disciples. This is where we get “The Lord’s Supper.”

Herein lies the amazing statement that Jesus makes that unlocks our key to joy: “And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them . . .” (Luke 22:19 NIV).

He gave thanks.

Ann Voskamp brilliantly points out that, in the original language, “he gave thanks” reads “eucharisteo.” The root word of “eucharisteo” is charis, meaning “grace.”

There is more.

Eucharisteo, thanksgiving, holds its derivative, the Greek word “chara.”

What does “chara” mean? Joy.

The key to joy, then, is to be thankful.

Voskamp adds: “As long as thanks is possible, then joy is always possible. Joy is always possible.”

An old preacher once said, “The greatest thing is to give thanks for everything. He who has learned this knows what it means to live . . . He has penetrated the whole mystery of life: giving thanks for everything.”

Want joy?

Be thankful for what Jesus Christ has done, for your singleness, marriage, job, circumstances, trials, family, church, car, money, gifts, breath, life. Everything. Be thankful.

Whoever you are, wherever you are, no matter what circumstances you are facing — joy is possible. Now. Today. Forever.

Rid yourself of bitterness and entitlement and enter the pathway of your deepest longings being fulfilled, through thankfulness.

Post your comments below.

20130324-234251.jpg

10 thoughts on “Thankfulness = Joy

  1. Came looking for a new post- but ah! to no avail! but I thought it was time To comment on a non-relationship article… Told you I read these!

    What a beautiful and timeless truth. And when it seems like there is “little” to be thankful for we can always rest our head on the truth behind the cross.

    “For I know that my Redeemer lives,
    And He shall stand at last on the earth;…”

    Thanks again mr. Qaoud πŸ™‚

  2. Christians account for 2 billion people. There are upwards of 7 billion living on Planet Earth.
    Are you truly suggesting that 5 billion of the world’s population are utterly joyless merely because they do not believe in Jesus?

    I challenge you to provide any evidence to support this statement

  3. Yes, We must be Thankful,..We are Just like our LORD Jesus. I’m thankful for everything ooh Lord, Including this blog. And before I forget, Thank you for liking my Post on Our Statement of Commitment, It meant a lot. Ur truly Illuminating

  4. Being content by being thankful is wise…keep striving for more pleasures and not being satisfied as though it is like a repeated cycle, what a foolish thing. They don’t get joy like those wise people do who are humbly thankful. Being humble is wise and beautiful thing. I have recently wrote an article about humility: http://stepintoeternity.wordpress.com/2014/04/20/humility/

    Surrender all our burdens to GOD completely, never take it back = peace of mind that you can never get it elsewhere in this dark and evil world. No worries πŸ™‚ I am still working and it is leading me to joy and love if I completely surrender all my burdens to GOD. I really want to do that. I hope someone would pray for me to have strength cause I want to surrender my all to GOD.

  5. I love Ann Voskamp’s books! My husband and I have started a list of what we are thankful for each day. We keep it on the kitchen table. It’s a great way to remind us what God has given us.

Please leave a comment

