Jonathan Edwards, Prayer, and A Heavenly Experience

In his book, The Works of Jonathan Edwards: Letters and Personal Writings, George S. Claghorn gives us a glimpse of a taste Jonathan Edward’s once had in prayer:

Once . . . in divine contemplation and prayer, I had a view that for me was extraordinary, of the glory of the Son of God, as Mediator between God and man, and his wonderful, great, full, pure, and sweet grace and love, and meek and gentle condescension . . . The person of Christ appeared ineffably excellent with an excellency great enough to swallow up all thought and conception . . . which continued as near as I can judge, about an hour; which kept me the greater part of the time in a flood of tears, and weeping aloud. I felt an ardency of soul to be, what I know not otherwise how to express, emptied and annihilated; to lie in the dust, and to be full of Christ alone; to love him with a holy and pure love; to trust in him; to live upon him; to serve and follow him; and to be perfectly sanctified, and made pure, with a divine and heavenly purity.

Let’s not make experience an idol, but let us long for such experiences.

Post your comments below.

9 thoughts on “Jonathan Edwards, Prayer, and A Heavenly Experience

  1. Thank you for this little glimpse into a godly life since gone. It brought to mind the other night–I was just reading about Solomon when he was dedicating the new temple, the gathering of people and the experience of worship on that day. Can you imagine how the people felt then? I certainly agree with you that we should not make these kinds of experiences our idol. In times when such experiences happen, God gets all the glory because He is being glorified. I have experienced a few awesome worship experiences in the past, and the overpowering experience of the presence of the Lord makes everything else insignificant! It makes me wonder what heaven will be like….

  2. Psalms 63:1-2
    ​ O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee:
    my soul thirsteth for thee,
    my flesh longeth for thee
    in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;
    To see thy power and thy glory,
    so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary.

  3. Reblogged this on TheKingsKidChronicles and commented:
    Oh, the love that drew salvation’s plan, and brought it down to man! Oh the mighty gulf that God did span–at Calvary. This is one of my favorite hymns. Oh how I long to be the servant my Lord deserves. He does fill me up when I take time to let Him.

  4. Thank you for sharing this portion of Jonathan Edwards’s sermon. So many great songs of love and adoration come to mind, but the one I sing the most is “How can I say thanks for the things You have done for me, things so undeserved, yet You give to prove Your love for me. . .to God be the glory.” I had to reblog.

Please leave a comment

